Who are the members of the Governing Body?

St Ebbe’s is a Church of England Aided School but largely state funded, so the composition of the Governing Body [GB] is determined by the Department for Education. All governors are elected or appointed for a 4 year term. At the first full GB meeting of the school year governors elect a Chair and Vice-Chair and at the first committee meetings of the year appoint committee Chairs and decide how those meetings will be minuted. The Governing Body also appoints Associate Members who can bring specific skills and knowledge to meetings. They make an equal contribution to the work of the GB but have limited voting rights.

  • Two of the governors are elected by parents: Malcolm Cubitt, Katie Doorley
  • One is elected by staff: Jim Sherry
  • One is appointed by the Local Authority: Hugh Starkey
  • Seven governors represent the school’s Church of England foundation: three are appointed by the Diocese of Oxford (Joyce François, Steve Whitla and Stephen Dudley), two by the Parochial Church Council of St Ebbe’s Church (Pete Wilkinson and Janet Rayment) and two by the Parochial Church Council of St Matthew’s Church (Jenni Williams and Tony Lee)
  • The Head Teacher has the option of being a governor and Tina Farr has chosen to do so.
  • There is one associate member: Clare Whyles

If you would like to know more about individual governors, please see the governor profiles for more details.



  • Steve Whitla

    Chair of Governor / Foundation Governor
    More Info

  • Janet Rayment

    Foundation Governor
    More Info

  • Hugh Starkey

    Local Authority Governor
    More Info

  • Jim Sherry

    Staff Governor

  • Katie Doorley

    Parent Governor

  • Jenni Williams

    Vice Chair / Foundation Governor

  • Stephen Dudley

    Foundation Governor

  • Pete Wilkinson

    Foundation Governor
    More Info

  • Joyce François

    Foundation Governor
    More Info